PREVIEW: Irish songsmith David Keenan ready for tour of UK, Canada and US

“It stabbed me in the chest like the pimp prudent’s knife,
Into poor wandering Beckett under a mother of pearl sky
At the back of the wall, I bawled, cursing all in reel and rhyme
While feeling out of sorts like a road sweeper dressed up to the nines…”
SINGS Irish songsmith David Keenan in his sublime cut; James Dean.

His lyrics steeped in rich poetic rhythm, reminiscent of fellow Irishman Patrick Kavanagh accompanied by Bob Dylan in his Greenwich Village days.

Keenan’s live performances have been described as visceral, spiritual and communal events, with Keenan leading the proceedings, including sold out shows across Ireland, the US and a prestigious support slot with James at Castlefield Bowl.

This month, hot off the back of two sold-out shows at Whelan’s in Dublin, sees Keenan’s debut UK tour, stopping in Birmingham, London, Manchester with a stop off at his former home of Liverpool to underground dungeon EBGBs on February 7.


The eerie Lone Wolf & Club will play host to Keenan’s homecoming, after Keenan spent a formative year and a half in Liverpool, with a debut performance at the much loved, sadly gone Cahoots on Smithdown Road, ran by the late great Tramp Attack frontman, Kristian Ealey.

Following frequent appearances at the legendary Lomax Club, Keenan then ventured back home and began conquering Irish shores following a viral video of him performing in a taxi in his native home of Dundalk, performing his ode to the streets, El Paso.

Keenan further fortified his position as Ireland’s rising star with the wonderful, ‘The Friary.'

Keenan’s releases so far include Strip Me Bare Vol. 1&2 and his latest EP, Evidence Of Living, recorded in Dublin and London’s Fire Pit Studios was released in December 2018 has been warmly received, featuring the incredible ‘Postcards From Catalonia’ with an accompanying video for ‘Two Kids.'

Keenan’s latest release, ‘Subliminal Dublinia’ written about the Irish housing crisis, Keenan declaring “we need to fight back the waves of apathy…” accompanied by a video of Keenan parading through the streets of Dublin.

Full list of tour dates:
  • Monday, 4 February - Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham, UK
  • Tuesday, 5 February  - The Islington, London, UK
  • Wednesday, 6 February  - The Islington, London, UK
  • Thursday, 7 February  -  EBGBs, Liverpool, UK
  • Friday, 8 February - Soup Kitchen, Manchester, UK
  • Friday, 15 February - International Folk Alliance Conference, Montreal, QC, Canada
  • Saturday, 16 February - Mavericks, Ottawa, ON, Canada
  • Sunday, 17 February  - The Drake Hotel, Toronto, ON, Canada
  • Sunday, 24 February - Waterford, Ireland
  • Wednesday, 27 February - Irish Arts Centre, New York
  • Thursday, 28 February - Irish Arts Centre, New York
  • Tuesday, 5 March - Grey Horse Tavern, Long Island
  • Thursday, 7 March - Gman Tavern, Chicago
  • Saturday, 9 March - Danny Clinch Transparent Gallery, Asbury Park
  • Sunday, 10 March - Milkboy, Philadelphia
  • Monday, 11 March - Wine Garden, Washington DC
  • Tuesday, 12 March - SXSW, Texas
  • Wednesday, 13 March - SXSW, Texas
  • Thursday, 14 March - SXSW, Texas
  • Friday, 15 March - SXSW, Texas
  • Saturday, 16 March - Rockwood Music Hall, New York
  • Sunday, 17 March - Rockwood Music Hall, New York

For more information or tickets visit https://www.davidkeenan.ie/

Words Chris Parkes

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

Follow by Email